Wednesday, 25 May 2011

Happy Africa Day

The annual celebration takes place on 25th May each year and is celebrated by the members of the African Union (AU). It commemorates the founding of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) in 1963,whereby the leaders of 30 of the 32 independent African states signed a founding charter in Addis Ababa,Ethiopia.

This years theme for Africa Day is 'Africa and the Diaspora'

There are 52 members of the AU:

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Western Sahara (SADR), São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

A Map of Africa

Celebrations are taking place place worldwide from Ireland to South Africa to New York and Nairobi for the Offical AU celebrations. 

Last year's Offical celebration

Have a lovely time enjoying Africa Day


The Only Girl 

Canary Islands are part of Spain
The 53rd member Mauritania is currently suspended from the AU
Morocco withdrew from the AU in 1984.

No comments:

Post a Comment

What are your reactions,towards the post.I love reading your comments so please comment : )